How to Appeal for Denied Korean Visa Application?

Visa Application is indeed a struggle to every applicant especially when the application gets denied. Sadly, no one could ever tell whether your visa application will be approved or not except the consul who reviews your application. Many factors affect the success rate of the visa approval but you will never know until you get DENIED.

e

I have applied for several visas in the past. From Taiwan E-Visa, to Greece Schengen Visa and now, Korean Visa. Luckily, I haven’t been denied of a Tourist Visa yet but unfortunately, my boyfriend had. Vince and I are planning to visit Korea and that required us to Apply for Korean Visa. We went through the same process of visa application. We prepared all the requirements and submitted them to the travel agency for processing. I couldn’t wait until our visa gets released so I checked the status of our visa application online. As soon as I saw the status my application as approved, I checked Vince’s thinking that he’d be approved as well but to my surprise, the status of his application was DENIED.

h

Know how to check the status of your Korean Visa Application Online HERE.

To reconfirm the result of Vince’s visa application, I immediately called the travel agency but they told me that they wouldn’t know the result unless our passports have been returned by the embassy. We waited until finally, we were able to claim our passports. I got the Korean visa on my passport while Vince had a piece of paper stapled at the back of his passport stating that he got denied with the reason “YOU FAILED TO QUALIFY FOR THE VISA CATEGORY THAT  YOU HAVE APPLIED”. So it’s true. It was disappointing and saddening. We already had our tickets booked and of course, we were already excited. Vince already lost his hope but I didn’t. I searched over the internet and found this blog on How I Applied for Appeal for my South Korea Visa by Mariel. It was so helpful and it really gave me the hope that we, too, can appeal and get approved of a Korean Visa.

Disclaimer: These are just reference for those who are planning to re-apply and the result of the appeal still depends on the Korean Consulate.

First, we prepared the same requirements we provided the first time we applied:

  • Duly filled out Application form (download here). Should be Typewritten.
  • One (1) recent passport-sized photo with white background pasted on the application form.
  • Valid Passport. Must be valid for at least 6 months from the travel date.
  • Photocopy of Passport Bio-page
  • Original & Photocopy of valid visa/s and arrival stamps to OECD member countries for the past 5 years (If applicable only)
  • Original Certificate of Employment (must include applicant’s position, date hired, compensation, office address, HR landline number(mobile number is not allowed), HR e-mail address)
  • Original Personal Bank Certificate (must include account type, current balance, account opening date, ADB)
  • Original or Certified True Copy of Bank Statement or passbook for the last 3 months
  • Photocopy of Income Tax Return or Form 2316 Copy
Note: If you don’t have the Income Tax Return or you lack any of the required documents, you may submit a letter of explanation addressed to the Korean Embassy.

This time, we also attached some supporting documents including:

  • Letter of Appeal which states your purpose of travel, justification of your purpose and your travel company.

l

  • Copy of Flight Booking Confirmation
  • Copy of Hotel Booking Confirmation
  • Detailed Itinerary of your stay

j

  • Copy of the Passport Bio-page and approved Korean Visa of your travel companion.

Since the Korean Embassy in Manila does not accept appeal, we filed our re-application at Korean Embassy in Cebu since they accept appeals. Unlike the Korean Embassy in Manila, the embassy in Cebu still accepts walk-in applicants as of yet. But since we cannot go to Cebu to file our appeal, we had to seek assistance from travel agency and this time, we processed through Hankookceb Makati branch. Hankookceb processes visa appeals for Php1,500 per applicant which already includes shipping of all the application requirements to Cebu and back to Manila.

Our documents arrived in Hankookceb Cebu branch last October 8. They were able to submit our re-application right then at the Korean Embassy. According to the agent, it will take ten (10) working days to process and result will be released on October 22. I felt mixed emotions. I wanted to check the status of application online but somehow I’m scared of what might be the result so I just waited until October 22.

On October 22, lunch time, I checked the status online and voila…

i

The next day, Hanookceb Manila branch contacted me and told me that Vince’s passport is already available for pick-up in their office in Makati. The whole process of re-application was more intense than I thought but it’s like an achievement getting the visa after being rejected the first time.

Now, we’re feeling more excited to experience autumn together in South Korea for the first time!

Hope this helps! 🙂

KathJ

 


150 thoughts on “How to Appeal for Denied Korean Visa Application?

  1. Hi ma’am! When you re-applied ba for the consulate in Cebu binago pa ba ung bank certificate na naka address? Like since originally it was addressed to the Embassy here in Manila. pinakuha ba kayo ulit ng bank cert na naka address sa consul in Cebu?

    Like

  2. Hello, same shit happened to me and my friend. Mine got approved and hers got denied. We have the same inviter which is our Korean friend who studied here in the Philippines. It’s really kind of weird for one of us to get approved and not for the other. Our flight is already next week October 8, 2019. The agency we applied for haven’t contacted us yet and last time I called our passports are not with them yet. They told us before that we’ll be contacted for a maximum of 15 working days and tomorrow’s the 15th. I’m hoping to get our passports tomorrow. My friend is already preparing the necessary documents and we’re planning to re-book our flight dates since there won’t be enough time for the re-appealing in our case.

    May we have a copy of your letter of reconsideration please? Thank you.

    Like

    1. Hi there! Sad to hear that. I know exactly how it feels. 😦

      Anyway, I just sent a copy of the letter to your email for reference. Good luck on your friend’s appeal!

      Like

  3. Hi Ms. kath.

    Last September I applied here in Korean Embassy in Manila but unfortunately I got denied.

    I will be watching BTS concert since I won from the raffle, which I already had the ticket so this is really heartbreaking to me.

    I already send my re application & waiting for the results. Here are the following documents I submitted.

    1. Standard Requirements with COE, ITR with BIR Stamp,
    2. Scanned Approved Visa, Passport Bio Page of my friends
    3. Concert Ticket Confirmation
    4. duly notarized Affidavit and Undertaking
    5. Sample itinerary good for 3 days with costing.
    6. Offer to Purchase of Lot under my name.
    7. Cover Letter – Sa cover letter ko po I made marking like ANNEX 1, kaya iyong mga supporting documents ko ay may markings but I found out may arrangement po pala ang embassy) Medyo doubtful din ako kasi baka ma-void my application because of those markings.
    8. Approved Leave Form
    9. Hotel Booking Confirmation under my name.

    Please check, If the documents I submitted are okay enough?

    Thaaankyou.

    Like

    1. Hi there! I think you’ve sent enough supporting documents na. Regarding sa arrangement ng embassy, I’m not sure if it applies sa mga re-application. Same with requirements, pag first time, no need to present flight and hotel booking confirmation but sa appeal, pwede na.

      As long as you’ve explained well in your letter the purpose of your trip, I think that’s good enough. I can’t assure you but let’s just hope for the best!

      Good luck! 🙂

      Like

      1. Hoping for the best!

        About the marking, my friend arranged it (pinasabay ko lang kasi siya sa friend who i walk in applicant) according to the listing of the embassy. Hopefully it’s okay kasi narumble na iyong marking so parang disregard lang ang markings. Sorry, I am just over thinking with those small issues. Same with you, I am scared somehow. hehehe.

        Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s really a big help!

        Like

  4. Hi Katherine, this is Safian Gill from Pakistan recently my south Korea visa is rejected can you just tell which documents are required to apply again and how many days embassy take to process bcz i have to visit Korea before 15th of October 2019 please reply soon as possible.
    IN CHRIST
    Thank you

    Like

    1. Hi there! You may check the requirements we submitted here https://bit.ly/2ouD5Ti. As for the processing, it took us 10 working days. But note that the requirements and process stated in my blog is for Philippine passport holders and for processing through Korean Embassy in the Philippines. I’m not sure if the same applies in your country. You may want to call the Korean Embassy in your country for assistance. Good luck! 🙂

      Like

      1. Hello! We are a group of 4 but 2 of us got denied so we are planning to appeal by the end of the month 😦 Would it be alright to ask for a copy too, please?

        Like

  5. Hi Kath! May I request a copy of your re-appeal letter and the itinerary. I have already submitted my application last week and I just want to prepare for the worst case scenario since my flight is on 30 Dec. Thank you!

    Like

  6. Hi Ms Katherine,

    This is Mark, Just found out that my korean visa application got denied. Is there any chance pa ba na ma re-appeal to . our flight daapat ay november 12 2019.

    Thankyou.

    Like

  7. Hi Kath,

    Me and my partner applied for Korean Visa here in Manila and just received the result today. Mine got approved but hers got denied. Can I also please ask for the copy of your Letter of Appeal? We also already have a plane ticket (it is in Nov 26 na 😦 and airbnb booking) so it is really heartbreaking that her Visa got denied. Also, can I ask how did you send your appeal in Korean Embassy in Cebu in detail? Thank you very much. So happy I saw your page. Godbless.

    Like

  8. Hello and good day! I just got my visa application denied i want to try and appeal for it. can I ask for a copy of your letter please? 🙂 for my reference. Thank you so much 🙂

    Like

  9. Hi Kath!

    We got the exact result from the website. It’s heartbreaking since my friend and I planned this for months and we even have our tickets booked 😦 it took mote than a month for the travel agency to notify us about the result and we weren’t informed that we can check it on the website. I got my passport back, but it’s still saying application received only on the website. I’m thinking of doing the same thing and file an appeal. However, our tickets are booked on December 16, 2019. Do you think we’ll still have a chance to appeal? And could you please send us a sample of the letter that you sent to them? Thank you so much!

    Like

  10. Hi katherine. Medyo thankful ako nakita ko tong blog mo. Nalaman ko lang kahapon na denied ung visa ko due to the same reason na nagyare sa bf mo. Ngaung nabasa ko to biglang nagkaroon ako ng pag asa. Ask ko lng sana sayo.. Kung sisimulan ko ngaun ung pag aayos ng documents tingin nyo po ba aabot pa ko sa flight ko ngaung december 16?

    Like

  11. Hi Kath, Your post has really been helpful. May I request a cope of reappeal letter and itinerary too? Over the past few years I have been given a single entry visa to korea and when I re-applied last december 2019 it seems I have been denied. I will try and re-apply in cebu through a travel agency.

    Like

  12. hi ms kath,

    My visa got denied as well here in manila. Can i ask for the copy din ng letter of appeal for reference? Thank you in advance.

    Like

  13. hi kath. Is it possible to get a copy of your Letter of Appeal ? denied din ako and planning to reapply visa in cebu this friday. thanks

    Like

  14. hello sis i read your blog please help me i got denied in my korean visa yesterday i feel frustrated. canyou help me about appeal letter thank you

    Like

  15. Hi Kath. one of my friend got denied and it is so heart breaking for us for her not to be able to join. can you please email me a copy of the appeal letter pls

    Like

  16. Hi Ms. Kath! Thanks for sharing this. I got denied in my korean visa application. Same reason like the others, “the purpose of entry is not detailed in explanation” All of my friends are approved. This gives me hope to file an appeal letter in cebu embassy. Can you also send me a copy of your letter? This would be a great help. 😊

    Thanks a lot! God bless.

    Like

  17. Hi, Kath! Can i ask a copy of your Letter of Appeal pls?? same thing happened to my partner. 😦

    hoping for a positve response po salamat

    Like

  18. Hello Ms Kath, we are 10 in the group all has approved visa except for me (all are my family including my son) everything were paid and we are set to travel on April 06, 2020 but unfortunately my visa wasn’t approved do you think I still have time to reapply? And I’m here in Bicol can I send my documents directly to the agency there in Cebu?

    Like

Leave a comment